Contemplating Starbuck Swagger

Me…writing

It’s Saturday morning, I’m drinking tea in one of my favorite coffee shops, and working on a synopsis. Life is good.It’s pouring rain outside, but warm for a change. I don’t mind being wet if I’m warm.

Yesterday, I finished the second draft of the WIP I’ve been working on (book 2 – Nederlander series). I like it, but I need a rest from it for awhile. That’s why I decided to write a synopsis, and get working on background information for book 3. I’m thinking of setting it in Florence. What fun.

Took in two workshops and a critique group session in the last two weeks. Craft ideas are swirling in my head, and I hope they’ll  land in my work… soon. I’m counting on gravity.

The Swagger part…

My friendly coffee shop is changing. Starbucks opened last month just down the road, soaking up some of its clientele like a nasty mop. This morning I’ve noticed  mostly men have come into this one. That seems odd, but it’s a rougher crowd here than in the other place.

Why is that? We’re like two hundred meters away, and the prices are similar.

But there’s something about holding a Starbucks cup high in the air as you walk that speaks of status. It’s like a Starbucks swagger has creeped into our culture. At a price of almost five dollars for a latte that is an expensive swagger.

I’m not a coffee shop snob. I like moving around and trying different settings.

I like our new shiny Starbucks, because it has enormous windows and sunlight (what little we’ve seen this season) streams in. It will always be in my heart, because that’s where I was when I got the good news about finalling in the Daphne.

I like this Serious Coffee shop, because it’s independent, has quiet corners for working, and a more egalitarian feel about it. Street people come in to get warm. They don’t buy anything. When it’s miserable outside, they use the washrooms, get warm and leave. And that seems to be okay with the management. I like that.

I’ve never seen a street person in a Starbucks. I think it would foul the swagger thing.

I wonder what my ancestors would think of the cost of our modern swagger?  I guess it’s better than corsets, or bow ties, but really…can’t we lose our desire to flaunt and look better than our neighbor?

Maybe not…when it tastes so good:)

Happy swaggering my friends.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

8 thoughts on “Contemplating Starbuck Swagger”

  1. You know I love swagger, but I’m with you on this one, Jo-Ann. Loving something for its intrinsic qualities is one thing, but I hate status symbol-motivated behaviors. Interesting observation! 🙂

    Like

  2. Hey, Jo-Ann. Busy babysitting Grand 3, so just now catching up. Your observation was astute. I do think we get caught up in that kind of thing. I hate to confess one of my own “getting caught up” experiences. I was young in junior womens club. The very “in” thing was the lapis beads necklace. Gold chain with the beads added in any number for significant events. The other day, I ran across my necklace which I had to have and wore with much pleasure for many years. I like to think it wasn’t just to be in–after all the beads are blue, my favorite color. LOL (Gee, this makes me think of the whole Pandora bead thing going on now.) I guess the status-symbol thing hasn’t changed that much at all. I am so not a SB fan–its way too strong. But the stores are nice. I’d like your shop that lets everyone in. Most places have signs posted stating RR are only for paying customers. Yeah, I’d prefer your more friendly coffee shop. Congrats for all the great work, too.

    Like

    1. Hi Marsha
      I cringe at the thought of how many clothing and jewelery options I’ve worn for status. We’re such funny animals.
      Your blue lapis necklace sound beautiful and rich with wonderful memories.
      I’m intrigued that they post signs in the shops where you live. I guess it becomes an issue.
      Happy writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. I like your coffee shop and while inclusiveness is good you definitely wouldn’t want to use the washroom most frequented by street people. Not unless tihey’ve got the uber cleaning crew too!

    Like

    1. Pat
      Sooo true. I try to avoid their washroom, but then I try to avoid public washrooms downtown period.
      Happy Writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

