One Step at a Time…or is it one forward and 2 back?

Ira Glass on Storytelling from David Shiyang Liu on Vimeo.

Reflections on my week of writing:

The Creative Process: Jeff Goins’s post, Why Your Work Never Feels Good Enough, is an inspiring piece of advice for newbies like me. The clip above came from there.

Sunday: I’m leaping off my chair into the “Six Sentence Sunday” event. Yup, I’m going to post six sentences from my manuscript and link it with others. I hope you come back for a taste of what I’m writing.

Revisions: continue. Every time I take a workshop or read a book, I’m driven back to the beginning of my manuscript to revise, revise, and  revise with new passion. It’s an interesting process.

Right now I’m reading Debra Dixon’s Book,  Goals, Motivation and Conflict, one of the most recommended books for new writers. OMG is it good! I know, nothing knew here, but it knocks my socks off every time I open it. Listen to this:

“If you provide a strong enough motivation [for your character’s actions] your reader will follow you (and your characters) anywhere – into alien spaceships, through time travel warps, along with little old ladies who take on the mafia by themselves. The key is proper motivation.” (p. 36)

Writers have to write: I know I do. It’s like the bird in Edgar Allen Poe’s poem The Raven, the one that won’t go away. It sits on my shoulder whispering words and phrases in my ear. “Write it down, you fool,” it commands. Sometimes it uses a soft voice and takes on the magical elegance of the pheonix. Other times, it snarls and hisses at me and comes cloaked like a vulture smelling of yesterday’s carcasses. However it dresses, however it smells, it’s presence remains to whisper to my soul, “You must write.”

What about you?

Tell me your experience with the creative process.  Can you tame it?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

2 thoughts on “One Step at a Time…or is it one forward and 2 back?”

  1. For me, it is easier and healthier to write. If I’m not writing, I’m not actually very happy.
    So for me – I like to have ‘written’. And then I can involve myself in the rest of my life.

    Like

    1. Hi Jodie
      It sounds like you’ve worked out a comfortable relationship with your writing that allows you to be creative and still have a full life. I have to admit I struggle balancing the two.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

