I don’t lie to myself…much

Yellow Roses for Friendship:)

Reflections on my week of writing:

Revision: revision…revision: There is no end to revision.

Nationals: It’s been an exciting week  making plans with a group of friends to attend the National RWA conference in  July. It’ll be my first. Wooohoo. I hope to see some of you there.

SoMe: “The Lucky Days Par tay”, book promotion, is a great success for readers and writers. Thanks to everyone who stopped by and took a look.

Pinterest: I started a board on Amsterdam on Pinterest. It’s fun. You can find me there.

Those Friggen Silly Letters: You know the letters I’m talking about, the ones that appear when you want to post a comment on a blog. They’re so twisted and mangled you can barely read them, but you have to type them in a box to prove you’re not a robot. On some blogs they don’t work for me. I’ll spend thirty minutes trying to decipher the code before I give up. Now I know that I’m not alone. I read one person’s solution is to switch to Chrome for an operating system. It sounds like work.  If anyone has any ideas on how I can solve my silly letter problem let me know.

How I Lie to Myself (Let me count the ways:)

I read a post, 12 Lies to Stop Telling Yourself, which got me thinking about lying. I don’t lie to myself do I?

I wish I could say I don’t, but  I’m human. Lying to myself is  a psychological way of treading water in the currents of my life. Yes, I have currents. What do I lie about? I made a list. Here’s the top five in the order they came off my pen (actually keyboard – see I lie).

1. My weight – I’ll  blame the scale, weather or  the alignment of the heavens, before I admit that I’m gaining weight because I’m eating too much. This is fixable.

2. My writing – I block periods of time to write, but the blocks get whittled away by this and that…. I need to be more disciplined or I’ll never finish this revision. If I say I’m going to write, I need to write.

3. Relationships – Whenever I feel queasy about the state of an important relationship I look at it through rose colored glasses and say it’s fine. It’s not always, but I’m happier thinking so.

4. My fitness level – is not as good as I want it to be. I swim, walk and do yoga, but not enough, not nearly enough. This is fixable.

5. My past – I remember it selectively, hanging on to the good parts and letting the rest go. I never stick my foot in my mouth, hurt other people’s feelings or drink too much wine. Never. A carefully painted past works for me. Who’s to say what’s true when you talk history?

Soooo my conclusion is that it’s okay to lie to myself about some things, but not others – which means I’m not having cookies in the house next week, but I will believe I live in a perfect world. I do – really.

How about you? Told any good lies lately?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

2 thoughts on “I don’t lie to myself…much”

  1. Those Friggen Silly Letters: These really bug me. I’m following blogs on blogger that I simply no longer even bother trying to decipher those letters in order to leave a comment. WordPress all the way!
    I tell myself all the time that I DID write today, meaning I spent time on my blog writing & leaving comments on other blogs, when I should be working on my WIP 🙂

    Like

    1. Emma
      I know. It drives me crazy!!!
      …being blocked on Blogger…and not getting more time on my WIP.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
      Best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

