Amsterdam in my Writing Loft

The Red Bicycle: is a print from IKEA that takes me into the world of Amsterdam engaging wonderful memories of  windmills, canals,  bicycles, Vermeer, tulips and… cheese made for the gods. The print sits above my computer as a visual launch pad into the setting for my first series, aptly named  The Nederlander Series. Nice of IKEA to do that for me.

Revisions: I’m working on revising my first manuscript in the series. The word count is shrinking but the prose is strengthening. I attended an amazing workshop, The Four-Layer Method of Revision with Shelley Bates on the weekend. Her process, for me, is like having four different pairs of glasses to view my work with. If you ever get a chance to take a course from her, do. She’s not only an accomplished multi-published author (22 books in numerous genres) she’s also an outstanding teacher who engages her students in the learning process.

Mentors: I continue to be amazed at how generous  experienced RWA writers are with their time and expertise. They tell me it’s because they’ve been in our shoes. I am so very grateful for all the workshops, conversations, critiques and comments. I can only hope that some day I will  pass on to others something they value.

Do you have a picture in your writing spot? …and  What’s your writing group like?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

6 thoughts on “Amsterdam in my Writing Loft”

  1. Love that picture of the red bicycle, Jo-Ann! I have pictures in my writing spot, but they aren’t necessarily there to inspire my writing. Instead I have a present from my daughter. When she was 8 years old she took an empty square tissue box, attached two colored popscicle sticks to it to hold up a piece of paper (cut with a specialty scissors) that says, “The Best Writer Ever” with a downward pointing arrow. When I look down into the tissue box, I see my face in a little mirror she taped inside.

    Makes me smile every time. 🙂

    Like

    1. Christine
      Thanks.
      We spent a month in Amsterdam last Spring living like the locals and I fell in love with the city. That’s why I chose it to be the back drop of my series. I loved walking around the old city and cruising on the canals. Someday I’ll go back.
      Tot Zeins
      Jo-Ann

      Like

Leave a Reply

