3 Blogs Honoring Women’s Day

March 8th was International Women’s day.  Who decides these things? Anyway,  I discovered some interesting blog posts. Enjoy.

  1. The Ten Most Powerful female Characters in Literature” by Emily Temple can be found on Flavorwire. Excerpt:  “The wife of Bath is lewd and lascivious – but behind all the dirty jokes she’s making an argument for female dominance and a woman’s right to control her body, using her considerable rhetorical skill to simultaneously underscore and attack the anti-feminist traditions of the time. Not too shabby for 14th century literature.” I’m not sure I would pick these ten, but I like them. What do you think?
  2. International Women’s Day: 10 ways to celebrate” by Maura Judkis can be found in the Washington Post. Excerpt: “International Women’s Day was born of activism – the holiday was founded in 1910, when a German woman named Clara Zetkin proposed that every country devote a day to the needs and political demands of women.”
  3. “5 Social Media Campaigns Rocking International Women’s Day” by Zoe Fox at Mashable US & World. Excerpt:  “Rock the Lips, a campaign created by agency AKQA, is trying to make red lips the universal symbol of women’s empowerment. The campaign hopes 1 million women will wear red lipstick and share photos of themselves on Twitter, Tumblr and Instagram using the hashtag #RockTheLips.” Red lipstick as a symbol, hmmmm. Using make-up as a symbol of empowerment a bit of a stretch. What do you think?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

7 thoughts on “3 Blogs Honoring Women’s Day”

  1. Innteresting, Jo-Ann. I was surprised International Women’s Day went back so far in the past. I would’ve suggested sometime in the early 70’s. I was very active in AAUW then, and that organization along with others made a point of emphasising women’s empowerment. I remember proudly buying and wearing a T-shirt emblazoned with the words, “Agent of Change.” What I learned in those years led to my running for and being elected to the school board in the 80’s. Thanks for this reminder of what we owe our sisters who’ve gone before And no, I vote against the red lipstick unless you’re playing Marilyn on TV. 🙂

    Like

    1. Marsha
      I feel so fortunate that I was in my twenties, and at a liberal university (SFU) in the seventies when feminism really began to take hold. What an exciting time. I didn’t burn my bra, or wear a t-shirt with “Agent of Change” on it (though I would have liked to and can imagine you in one). I did embroider the female emblem on a shirt and talked up the issues. It was an exciting time to be alive. We do owe our sisters so much.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Great blog list there! I like how the one blogger listed literature from centuries past.
    On the red lipstick? Well, I’m not sure if it is the best symbol of women’s empowerment, but I do wear it everyday because I like how it makes the face pop. I know that some feminists are anti-cosmetics, but I look at it as an expression of art and personal taste.
    While I love wearing makeup, maybe a better symbol for the cause would be wearing a powersuit or sharp pair of black pants. It’s amazing to think that pants for women basically weren’t widely accepted until, what, the 70’s?

    What were your thoughts on the red lipstick? Curious. 😀

    Like

    1. Sara
      Thanks for your comments. I wear lipstick too, but I don’t think red lips make a good symbol for women’s empowerment because for me they bring to mind sensuality not power or politics.
      I can still remember when I went out in the work world pants were frowned upon. Heh, I can even remember not wearing them to school until university. It’s amazing to think about that now. I like your idea about pants.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

      1. Very true. Makeup is more about sensuality than power. And it is great to live in an age where we can wear whatever we wish (Within reason). 🙂

        Best,
        Sara

        Like

  3. An interesting post – as always. I like knowing about women who had power and not just the everyday wives and mothers behind the scenes. We all know that to be true!

    Like

Leave a Reply

