When Your Baby has a Baby

When your baby has a baby

The sun shines brighter,

the air smells sweeter,

and the hum of civilization fades.

When your baby has a baby,

love’s grip on the universe open up and swallows you whole,

the earth tilts on its axis,

and your heart bursts with joy.

When your baby has a baby,

you glimpse the beauty of eternity,

the mysteries of life,

and know the world will never be the same.

____________________________________________

*Dedicated to baby Minimac, born this weekend. He’s perfect.

*Yes, I  know I am an Oma, not a poet, but sometimes only poetry will do.

Any comments on how you feel when a new baby is born into your family?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

17 thoughts on “When Your Baby has a Baby”

  1. my children are all hugely special to me – they’re all adopted, but they are totally mine. Then one had a child of her own. I didn’t know I was capable of that much love. She is precious beyond comprehension.

    So glad you’re discovering the joys of being an Oma (we tried every grandmother name we could think of to get her to call me something other than mommy. She settled on Nanna.

    Like

    1. Cordelia
      I like Nanna. It’s all so special, just like you said, “I didn’t know I was capable of that much love.” He’s my third and I feel so blessed. Thanks for sharing your wonderful story.
      all the best
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. I’m so excited for you, Jo-Ann!
    Looking fwd to that day, myself. Though I have to hope it won’t be too soon, as my son’s only 19.
    k

    Like

  3. JoAnn,
    I love your name, because it also belongs to my momma, who has been gone now for fourteen years. I’m a Nana six times, and the first one is something you never forget. Congrats!
    Kim G.

    Like

  4. Jo-Ann, how wonderful you wrote a poem in honor of this new child! I’d never even attempt the task, much less have it turn out so well!
    I’m Mimi (the best Grand #1 could manage from “Grammy”, which I’d been for 13 years to my duaghter’s puppy) to a boy and two girls. We went from Christmas with one toddler to this past Christmas with 3! Yes, it is the best time of life, especially if you live close (7 minutes), which my husband and I are privileged to do. Happy for you and thanks for sharing. There’s nothing like the smile on their faces when I walk in–even the 5th month old.

    Like

    1. Marsha
      I agree with you. This is the best time of our lives. I can imagine the face of your 5 month old. Soo precious. I envy your 7 minute trip to see the grandkids. I’m a two hour ferry trip away from mine, but we visit often and they are always in my heart. Life is good.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann
      ps I can’t figure out how to subscribe to your website. I left you a message there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

