How to Create a Website in 3 Steps (with 10 thumbs)

If I can do it, you can do it.

Trust me, you can create a simple, good looking website that doesn’t break your bank account without having to bribe your neighbour’s nerdy, nine year old  child with video games.

Why bother? Here are my reasons:

  1. My website has the content I want on it, organized the way I want it organized.
  2. It looks exactly the way I want it to look.
  3. I can change any part of it in an instant from any computing device, including my phone.
  4. It’s cheap.

Believe me, you can do it. I have ten thumbs and I managed. Here is my “non-geek speak” advice for you if you want to build a website of your own:

Step 1  – Content (i.e., Know what you want to say to the world, and what you don’t want to say.)

Decide what you want on your site and organize it, in your mind, or on paper, into pages. For example, for me that looks like:

  • Page 1   Home Page (note: all websites have a home page that all the other pages are linked to, serving as an introduction/table of contents for your site)
  • Page 2  LovinDanger Blog
  • Page 3  Bio
  • Page 4  Contact Information
  • Page 4  Books

Step 2  – Graphics (i.e., Know what mood, feeling and branding message you want to create with pictures.)

After research and experience (details I won’t bore you with) I decided to use WordPress for my Blog (free and easy to use) and Go Daddy for my website ($129.00 for two years). Both platforms have “ka-zillions” of templates that create different mini environments for your content to live and breed  in.  Go through the template sections and look for ones that “fit” what you are writing. Yes, getting custom work done is possible, but not cheap, and the result isn’t always what you want. (been there)

Step 3 –  Bite the Bullet and hit the buy button (i.e., Jump in, the water’s warm.)

This was the hard one for me. I wanted to create the website, see what it looked like and then pay for it, kinda like trying on a prom dress, but with Go Daddy you can’t do that. I had to bite the bullet and buy the “Website Tonight Economy Package” first, and then design my site. I don’t regret it.

Once I’d paid for my package, the website fell together. I chose a template, played around with the fonts, and colours, inserted my content onto the appropriate pages and I was up and running. I got stuck trying to link my blog to a page, but it took only two quick phone calls to the tech guys and it was loaded. I now have a functioning website that’s all mine.

Soooo….If you’ve been sitting on the sidelines thinking of expanding your writing platform to a webpage, or if you’re tired of chasing your nerdy nine year old webmaster to fix up your site, consider doing it all yourself. It really is do-able.

Yes, I know my website isn’t perfect, but then that makes it a good reflection of me, and it gives me something to work on when I’m taking a break from writing. Check my baby out: www.Jo-AnnCarson.com and tell me what you think.

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

13 thoughts on “How to Create a Website in 3 Steps (with 10 thumbs)”

    1. Larissa
      Your welcome. I learn so much on the KOD loop. It’s great to feel like I’m giving something back.
      Happy writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  1. Thanks for the great info. Strange, I woke up this morning thinking I should set up a website, an there’s your blog post on my screen! I wasn’t actually thinking about one for my author hat this morning, but for my jewelry business, as I’ve had huge problems w/ the emailed catalog – the formatting goes wonky – and have therefore done nothing with it lately. Anyway, great timing.

    Like

    1. Kemala
      You have so many creative enterprises going on (i.e., recipe blog, jewellery and of course writing)! Good luck with your website. It’s like having a baby:)
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

    1. I’m glad that it’s helpful. I tried to write down the information I was looking for. Good luck with your website. I hope to see it some time.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  2. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, fantastic blog!

    Like

  3. Wonderful blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any tips? Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

