Chandeliers, London Fog and Saturday Mornings

Reflections on my week of writing:

Living in Interesting Times:

“In what could be a landmark moment in the struggle between old versus new technology, Amazon has announced that it now sells more copies of its Kindle ebooks than traditional paperbacks.”  (Richard Adams in The Guardian)

Word Count: Steady 

Body Count: Increasing

Social Media: Check out my new website, http://www.Jo-AnnCarson.com.  It took a lot of blood, sweat and curses but I did it!

One of my favorite places to write:

It’s become a ritual. On Saturday mornings I  slide out of the house, at dawn, with my laptop on my back and a few coins in my pocket. I wander along the harbor taking in the stillness of the ocean and the freshness of the salt air. There are only ducks and a few people out this early. I pass the man who does his karate Kata’s with a sword in an open space, the odd dog walker and a few street people. My destination is a cafe downtown. The staff  welcomes me in from the cold, like I’m a long lost member of the family. I order a medium London Fog (Earl Grey tea, steamed milk and a half shot of vanilla). The tall ceilings and large windows give the room a feeling of spaciousness and freedom. The large chandeliers give it a touch of the eccentric. Music plays in the background. I settle into the back corner. People come and go, enveloping me in a steady human hum of  laughter and camaraderie. I relax into a working frame of mind. Words begin to flow, characters swirl in my head and my elusive plot opens up. I love my Saturday writes.

Do you escape to a favorite writing spot? What’s it like?

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

15 thoughts on “Chandeliers, London Fog and Saturday Mornings”

  1. Congrats on the beautiful new website! As to your question…

    I’m a night owl, so don’t plan to join you at dawn ANY day of the week, least of all Saturdays. Still, I’d love to occupy a corner at Mad Rona’s coffee shop or Robert’s Restaurant here on Gabriola and write for hours – or as long as my battery lasts – the only interruption being asked if I’d like a refill.

    I don’t have a notebook computer yet so am chained to my desk. I thought an iPad would be the solution, but have you ever tried to type on one? Three years ago when my husband bought me this (wonderful) computer, I tried and tried to tell him I wanted to be portable, but he insisted I’d love this big, beautiful screen (which I do). I wasn’t even writing then, but perhaps deep inside I knew that day was coming. Now all three of us have Macs, but my husband, for business reasons, hates his iMac (notebook), so decided that he’d soon hand it down to me.

    Two days ago, my son spilled his drink on his own iMac.

    So guess who gets my husband’s?

    I don’t think they’re taking my writing seriously.

    Perhaps I need to take it more seriously first.

    But speaking of being chained to my desk, here’s the BIGGEST reason I need portability…
    WHO’s bright idea was partners’ desks? He should be strung up and flogged! Or maybe I should be, for thinking it was a workable husband/wife set-up. I can’t get ANYTHING done when hubby’s in town. You think they’re bad about asking where their socks and shirts are? Try sitting at a desk with your spouse all afternoon. “Can you hand me a paper clip?”, “Stamp and address this envelope for me, would you?”, “Hey, I gotta read this email to you – no really, it’ll only take a second. It’s hilarious.” “Dammit, where’d my pen go?”, “What’s this charge to Flying Fish for $376.82?!” Romance? Right.

    I long for the day we add on to this house. There’s a room just for me in the floor plan. In my mind, I do my best to escape to that room when I’m trying to write. Meanwhile, is a notebook computer really too much to ask?

    Like

    1. Kemala the midnight writer,
      You are so funny. I laughed through your whole comment. I can imagine your face when your dear husband asks for a paper clip and you’re in the middle of a big scene. lol.
      Thanks for the compliment on my website. It means a lot to me.
      To summarize what you said…you need a notebook computer first and a room, and you wouldn’t mind a thoughtful assistant who refills coffee cups. Sounds good to me.
      I’ve thought about writing in the Gabriola Island spots you mention, but it’s hard to hide there, and I like to hide, somewhat. I wouldn’t want anyone asking me for a paperclip:) or more likely to sign yet another petition:)
      Happy Writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

      1. LOL on the Gab petitioners.
        Still not sure about Victoria tomorrow.
        Would love to meet again for coffee – Gab or N’mo, either side, most any time – after 11, that is.

        Like

  2. Hi Jo-Ann, My husband and I both work at home, so he would saunter up from his workshop whenever he thought it was time for a break and just start talking. Eventually I twigged, bought a computer and moved to the room above the garage that no one ever used as a family room. I think a place of your own is very important. When you sit down in it you are there, in the zone again and ready to write.
    That said, as soon as the weather is right I move out to the screened in back porch with my laptop and feel the breeze and listen to the hummingbirds buzz the honeysuckle on the other side of the screen. I can hardly wait.
    Kudos on your website. I know it is a lot of work. Judy Hudson

    Like

    1. Judy
      I agree, like Virginia Wolf Wrote, a woman needs, “a room of her own.” I love the sound of your space on the back porch too. I like to write on my deck in the warm months. One of the things I love about writing is it’s so portable, and each location seems to bring something new and fresh to the experience.
      Thanks for you your kind words about my website and for adding to the discussion.
      Happy Writing
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  3. That walk along the harbour must be so inspiring!

    I usually write on my comfy bed Saturday mornings as the sun drifts in through my big window, or, preferrably, as rain splatters poetically on my big window. 🙂

    Like

    1. Sara
      Thanks for stopping by. Yes, I love my harbor walk. I know what you mean about the sound of rain on the window when you’re comfortable and cozy inside writing. It’s all good.
      Best Wishes
      Jo-Ann

      Like

  4. Guess what? Your blog was the straw that broke the camel – I gave up on Kevin yesterday and bought a MacBook Air. I’m so excited to finally be portable! But I’m now hearing, “Mom, can I use your computer?” For 4 years he hasn’t let me touch his, and suddenly he wants mine? Not happening. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

