Slapped Silly by SoMe

It's been one of those weeks.

Yes, this week I was slapped silly by SoMe (Social Media). I’d been toying with the idea of creating a writing platform for some time, but last Sunday, after hearing multi-published author Mimi Barbour talk about Twitter, I couldn’t hold back any longer. The dam holding my digital inhibitions shattered into a million pieces.

I’m kind of a shy gal, so I thought I’d take it slow. I set up a free blog with WordPress, reactivated my Twitter account and dipped my toe into Goodreads. OMG. Two days later I was up and running and getting great support. For example, my tweet announcing my baby blog was retreated to over 600 fellow twits. Imagine! The power of SoMe hit me. HARD.

On another note, my manuscript is  meandering along. I’m working on the first draft of the second book in my contemporary, category, Romantic- Suspense Series. I’m calling this one, Hidden (at the moment).  I hope that it’s ending doesn’t remain that way for too much longer:)

One of the  wonderful things about being a beginning writer is that I can see my writing improve by leaps and bounds, basically because it’s got so far to go … and I keep meeting up with great workshops, talented writers, books, critique partners and life. It’s exciting and fun. I feel like a kid who’s discovered a new playground.

I hope the words I wrestle with in my pajamas will  someday make sense. That’s my reflection on my week of writing.

I’m ending the week with a video clip of Steve Jobs talking about what it takes to succeed:

Author: Jo-Ann Carson

Jo-Ann Carson writes a saucy mix of fantasy, adventure and romance. Her latest stories are in the Gambling Ghosts Series: A Highland Ghost for Christmas, A Viking Ghost for Valentine’s Day, Confessions of a Pirate Ghost and The Biker Ghost Meets his Match. An anthology of the novellas will be coming out this summer. Currently she is working on Midnight Magic, A Ghost & Abby Mystery, the first book in a spin-off series from her Viking ghost story. Jo-Ann loves watching sunrises, playing Mah Jong and drinking good coffee. You can chat with her on social media: You can find all her links on her website - http://jo-anncarson.com

4 thoughts on “Slapped Silly by SoMe”

  1. Yay! Hi JoAnn! Welcome to the SM (more interesting acronymn if ya ask me! lol) World! Your blog is gorgeous and your writing voice shines though loud and clear. Best wishes on all your endeavors and I’m sure we’ll see you around. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Jo-Ann,
    Thank you for the mention and being such a quick learner!! Good dirl! (tender pat on head…)
    Now send me you twitter title so I can follow you and get you more followers from my great group.
    xo Mimi

    p.s.I hope you took my advice and used your author name and not something goofy like @shockingwords or @sex-starved writer…..I just made these up! Really!

    Like

    1. Mimi I can’t thank you enough. I’m having great fun developing my “web presence” and you gave me that final nudge (and great advice). My twitter is: @Jo_AnnCarson

      � Read about my crazy life as a writer of dangerous love stories. https://lovindanger.wordpress.com

      ________________________________

      Like

Leave a Reply

